San Jose State University

SJSU ScholarWorks

SJSU ERFA Minutes

The SJSU Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association

5-19-2017

SJSU ERFA Annual Business Meeting Minutes, May 19, 2017

San Jose State University, Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.sjsu.edu/erfa_minutes



Part of the Higher Education Commons, and the Higher Education and Teaching Commons

Recommended Citation

San Jose State University, Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association. "SJSU ERFA Annual Business Meeting Minutes, May 19, 2017" SJSU ERFA Minutes (2017).

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the The SJSU Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association at SJSU ScholarWorks. It has been accepted for inclusion in SJSU ERFA Minutes by an authorized administrator of SJSU ScholarWorks. For more information, please contact scholarworks@sjsu.edu.

SJSU Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association Annual Business Meeting, May 19, 2017 Spring Luncheon at the Village Clubhouse

Minutes [2nd draft]

Welcome and Introductions

President Nancie Fimbel welcomed everyone to the Villages. She offered special thanks to several members of the Activities Committee of the ERFA Board: Gene Bernardini, Dolores Escobar-Hamilton and Lonna Smith. She acknowledged the important contributions of the Faculty Awards Committee and thanked the full AY 2016-2017 ERFA Board.

Spring Luncheon Program

President Fimbel introduced SISU President Mary Papazian, who spoke to ERFA members and guests about her background, her commitment to SJSU, the value of the University to the community and the community to the University, plans for the future, including developing a stronger University community around the campus by providing more housing for students, staff and faculty. Following the President's talk, recipients of the third annual \$2500 ERFA Faculty Research and Creative Awards, A.J. Faas and Nicole Dubus, provided brief overviews of the support the awards will provide to their research projects. Dr. Faas, Assistant Professor of Anthropology, will use the award to travel to Bogota and attend the Colombia Anthropology Congress, organized by the American Anthropological Association, and to continue research on the social history of disaster research in Latin America. Dr. Dubus, Assistant Professor of Social Work, will use her award to travel to Malta to visit The Centre for Resilience and Social and Emotional Health at the University of Malta as part of her research for developing best practices in working with refugees. President Fimbel thanked ERFA members for their donations to these important faculty awards and encouraged individuals to continue donating in the future.

Business Meeting

President Fimbel called the Business Meeting to order.

1. Approval of Changes in Bylaws

President Fimbel presented the previously distributed proposed amendments to the Bylaws in Article I:

ARTICLE I. MEMBERSHIP

Section 1. All retired faculty, librarians, **counselors**, and academic administrators who are CalPERS annuitants are eligible for membership. These individuals shall become regular members of the Association upon application and payment of appropriate dues.

Section 2. Associate membership may be granted to faculty, librarians, **counselors**, and academic administrators with retired status in other accredited institutions of higher learning; San Jose State University pre-retirees (reduced time base); spouses of deceased members of the San Jose State University Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association; and eounselors. Associate members shall be subject to the same dues as regular members.

Motion to approve moved by Peter Buzanski and seconded by Dolores Escobar-Hamilton. Motion passed unanimously.

President Fimbel presented the previously distributed proposed amendments to the Bylaws in Article VII:

ARTICLE VII. COMMITTEES

Section 2. Standing Committees shall include but not be limited to the following: (a) Membership, (b) Activities, (c) Amenities, and (d) Communications and Photography. be formed to conduct assigned work on a continuing basis and may include such subjects as: activities, programs, faculty awards, and membership.

Section 3. The Association's Ad Hoc Committees shall include but not be limited to the following: (a) Nominating (b) Auditing, and (c) Projects. be formed to address specific tasks of limited duration and may include such work as: nominating, auditing, and special projects.

Motion to approve moved by Peter Buzanski and seconded by Elba Maldonado-Colon. Motion passed unanimously.

2. Election of 2017-2018 ERFA Board Members

Nancie Fimbel presented the slate of nominations for 2017-2018. Vice President/President Elect – Elba Maldonado-Colon Secretary (2-year position) – Dennis Wilcox Members-at-Large (2-year positions) – Bill McCraw; Jo Bell Whitlatch Academic Senate Representative – Peter Buzanski

No additional nominations were forthcoming from the floor. Nominations were closed. The slate of nominations was approved unanimously.

President Fimbel invited Randy Balogh, Director of Planned Giving, University Advancement, to encourage ERFA members to continue to support SJSU. Randy Balogh briefly noted that he had provided packets for the attendees describing planned giving opportunities at SJSU.

Finally, on behalf of the Executive Board and incoming President Ji-Mei Chang, Past President Whitlatch thanked Nancie Fimbel for her excellent leadership and mentoring of our future officers.

Respectfully Submitted by Jo Bell Whitlatch, substituting for Dennis Wilcox