Publication Date

Spring 2010

Degree Type


Degree Name

Master of Arts (MA)


Music and Dance


Brian Belet

Subject Areas



The purpose of this thesis is to provide a thorough and detailed analysis of Stacy Garrop's two works for treble chorus and piano, Pity Me Not (2003) and Thou Famished Grave (2006) for the purposes of providing a base for future research and study. Since Garrop's goal as she composes is to tell the story contained in the text, this analysis of her works looks closely at the approaches she takes to communicate the story to the listener. The two choral pieces are examined on several musical levels including but not limited to form, melody, harmony, register, rhythm, tempo, meter, and dynamics. Themes and broad gestures as well as small motives are identified. A short biography of the composer and an interview provides context. The works are based on two sonnets by the American poet Edna St. Vincent Millay, so the discussion includes a brief biography of the poet, an overview of sonnet form, and an analysis of the two sonnets. Finally, comparisons are made to her other settings of sonnets by Millay for mixed chorus.