Publication Date

Fall 2009

Degree Type


Degree Name

Master of Arts (MA)


Music and Dance


Brian Belet

Subject Areas



Concerto for the Young Adventurer is a four-movement work written for cello, vibraphone and piano. Its themes are youthful adventure and exploration. Although the work is not programmatic in the strict sense, each movement is titled to guide the listener through a possible interpretation of the music's meaning. Each instrument is featured in several places, and all three provide supporting material when not in the spotlight. As a whole, the work is symphonic in its structure. Each movement serves its purpose in the larger picture, while all can function independently from one another. Recurring ideas link the movements together thematically and unify the work.